NPL Post #2

Over the past week and a half I have been learning about how to use the app Coach’s Eye.  To guide me in my learning, I have only been using YouTube videos and discussion forums.

To start the project I watched an introductory video about Coach’s Eye that shared the benefits and uses of the app.

Then I downloaded the app from iTunes onto my iPhone for $4.99.

Just downloaded Coach's Eye - Rookie at 0%
Just downloaded Coach’s Eye – Rookie at 0%

Then I started devouring videos to learn about how to use the app. The most helpful video I watched was about using video analysis. The video showed all the basics of how to annotate a video using the different drawing tools and speed controls. The video also showed me how to create a new video from my original video with all my annotations, audio remarks, and speed controls in the new analyzed video and how to share the analyzed video.

There are a few advanced features that are not covered in the Using Video Analysis video. So I watched a few more videos about Coach’s Eye including Creating a Side by Side Screen for Comparing and Creating Slow Motion Videos.

After watching the YouTube video, I felt confident in trying to capture and analyze my own video. I filmed my subject of interest, Susan, demonstrating her overhand throwing motion so I could critique the motion and help her improve it.

This video shows my first attempt at analyzing a video and sharing it to YouTube.

 

 

After Susan watched the above video, we taped a second throw. The picture below shows a comparison of the two throws. Throw 1 is on the left and Throw 2 is on the right.

Left = incorrect footwork Right = correct footwork
Left = incorrect footwork
Right = correct footwork

I feel that for Susan to understand the improvements she needs to make to her throwing motion she needs to see her throw compared to an expert’s throw. This should be possible by using the side by side comparison feature. I would like to find an example on Youtube of an expert’s throwing motion to compare  it with Susan’s throwing motion. However after looking through a discussion forum, it might be impossible to import videos from YouTube. One person in the forum suggested a possible way to import which I will try. Another solution to my problem is to find a person who has expert form to video tape. Then I will already have the video in Coach’s Eye, and I won’t need to import from YouTube. Another option I could try is downloading a YouTube video onto my computer. Then uploading the video into my photos on my phone, and finally importing the video into Coach’s Eye.

Check back in to see how Susan’s throwing motion progresses and if I am able to get a expert comparison video.

 

Resources used so far:

Videos:

Introduction – Gives the basic overview of what Coach’s Eye is and what it can be used for

Using Video Analysis – How to use analysis tools, speed controls, and share videos

Creating a Side by Side Screen for Comparing – Shows how to set up split screen to compare two videos

Creating Slow Motion Videos – Gives two ways to create and record a video in slow motion from an original video

Importing Videos using Camera Roll, email, or Drop Box – How to import existing videos from your camera roll, email, or drop box into Coach’s Eye for analysis and breakdown

How to Fix Upload Failures – Occasionally your shared videos will not work for the viewer. This video shows you have to make them viewable without having to re-share.

Forum:

Getting Expert Videos from YouTube – People looking for possible ways to export expert or example videos from You Tube into Coach’s Eye to analyze, compare side by side, and share

 

1 thought on “NPL Post #2

Leave a comment